On July 4, 1931 Charles Cillo
opened Uncle Charlie's Restaurant on a small parcel
of land situated close to Lake Bomoseen and adjacent
to Crystal Beach. There was a bait and boat shop on
the lower level, a dining room on the second level and
the kitchen and living quarters on the top two floors.
The addition of the glassed-in porch front overlooking
the lake added to the homey atmosphere of the restaurant.
Uncle Charlie had a good attitude and charm, making
the restaruant and bait shop successful year-round.
The boat and bait shop was popular, in part, due to
Uncle Charlie's flair for catching fish every time out
with many fisherman joining him, knowing they would
always go home with a good catch.
Uncle Charlie's Restaurant specialized in Italian cuisine
and Uncle Charlies's fresh caught lake fish. The family
grew all the vegetables served fresh from the garden.
They travelled to Boston for clams which became quite
popular. In the 1940's pizza caught on and became one
of the mainstay's on the menu. Pizza and hamburgers
became the "late night" faire. The pizza was
so good that many weekend visitors brought their frozen
pizza back to New York upon leaving the lake.
In January 1973 Uncle Charlie sold the business to Charles
Ogg from New Jersey. Mr. Ogg had family in Brandon,
VT and yearned for a more laid-back lifestyle and the
skiing offerred near-by. The newly remodelled restaurant,
boat and bait shop had its' Grand Opening on Memorial
Day 1973. Continuing in the family tradition, mom, dad
and son, Chipper ran the business, hiring staff to bus
and wait tables. The family and help lived on the two
upper floors of the building.
The Ogg family was meticulous in the preparation of each meal, using fresh, wholesome, homegrown ingredients. Although pizza remained on the menu the homemade soups and bread and fresh garden salad bar were very popular. Entrees included trout, shrimp, baked fish and many variations of chicken, with sirloin steak and prime rib offered as specials.
A group of summer boaters with hobie cats rented moorings
and reserved the "special porch" dining area
for parties. They called themselves "Uncle Charlie's
Yacht Club". The friendly atmosphere was carried
on by the Ogg family. The good food and personalities
of the family and staff brought customers back day after
day. Eventually they added live entertainment including
bluegrass from Ozark Whippoorwill and folksinging twice
a week during pizza hour.
In the fall of 1980 John Mulligan, a regular at Uncle Charlie's, purchased the business and transformed it into a Tavern named, Capt'n John's. In 1989 the restaurant became the Bomoseen Dock-side, owned by Steve and Pam Miller.
In 1996 the property was purchased by the Roger's family.
The era of the Lake House Pub & Grille had begun.
Dave and Shelly, along with a young and energetic staff
served up huge portions of food and fun lakeside. They
added music to the menu several nights each week, enhancing
the dining experience.
In keeping with the family owned and operated tradition, Brother's-in-Law, Brad Burns and Fred Field took over the LakeHouse Pub & Grille in June 2005. Their serious culinary experience and passion for food and Lake Bomoseen have inspired them to create a lakeside atmosphere of fantastic food, fun and comraderie "year-round".